Dissertation – Speculative Fiction – Social Change and the Future

For your reading pleasure this is my dissertation for MA Social Practice and the Creative Environment, Limerick School of Art and Design. I am currently using the research and conclusions from this text to inform a large-scale group collaboration around the idea of speculation.

Speculative Fiction – Social Change and the Future

On the 11th of May I will be hosting a part of my project in association with Catherine Street Cultural Dig, this micro project will consist of a two-day time capsule project. During this project I will be asking participants to make immediate contributions to a time capsule project commemorating the dig in 2012 to be uncovered hopefully in 2037. This project will allow me to start a dialogue around the concept of speculation and hopefully the discussions which will arise will entice participants to become collaborators in a larger project.

 

2 comments
  1. fifi la belle said:

    Strings of thought echoing through spirals of timelocked madness….
    Dimensions of carved existences leading to pyramids of future revelations…
    Count me in…..

    • Cool, are you living in the Limerick or Cork area. There is a face to face meeting at Ormston House, Limerick City on 21st of May where we will be discussing possible collaborative projects based around the process of speculation and its uses. If you would like you can contact thespeculativesociety@yahoo.com or my own email stevemaherart@gmail.com

Leave a comment